Vs. JAKE STARR TV TITLE: BD 5.20.2020

 

INTO THE MIND OF A HELLCAT

CHAPTER THREE

 

Fatal Fortunes had come and gone, for the Hellcat it was a matter of making a statement, going out there unknowingly and defending the title she won recently and now as TV Champion, will do what she can to keep it, all that is left is the SCW Tag Team Titles. For Regan though, it had been a very emotionally rollercoaster both in the ring and out of it. The feud with Xander Valentine seemed to have taken a new twist, did she win his respect at Cold Blooded? Was he targeting Tommy Valentine for his own reasons or did Regan play a part in those? She didn’t know but, in the end, it costs The Connection the Tag Team titles and Regan then found herself in a very odd and peculiar position. The Hellcat has a lot to think about especially after surviving the TV Title defenses on the two separate nights, where on the first she went up against Asher Hayes, Katie Steward and Xander Valentine, all three wrestlers former World Champions, present or future Hall of Famers and one of the biggest wins she has had in quite some time. After Cold Blooded things were starting to look up, yet the Taking Hold of the Flame Battle Royal was here, and she needed to be ready for anything…

Main Eventing Rise to Greatness was one of her dreams.

Regan had some issues to deal with though, while David wanted to team with her and take the titles, now that they were gone, the match could still happen, but the prize is not there. With Delilah’s success in tag team wrestling, her mother battling cancer and the fall of her husband’s very close friendship that in many ways Regan blames herself in, there was much to fix. Her therapy sessions were still going on, this time though it seemed like Regan was in a much better mood but not entirely, she still had some things going on and while talking to Dr. Ross Palkia, she was learning more about herself, admitting to thing and opening up when she normally wouldn’t. It was helping and there weren’t too many sessions left.

 

Dr. Ross Palkia Office

Los Angeles, CA.

5.18.2020

 

While Regan seemed to be in better spirits, at the same time there was something troubling her. Dr. Ross Palkia wanted Regan to be more open and freer, feeling it would help her out in the development. Regan was always afraid of losing her family, getting so caught up in the sport and forgetting its place. She sat across from him; legs crossed, wearing jeans, wedge sandals and a cream-colored halter top, her long brunette hair in a half ponytail, reading glasses on, toenails polished a matte midnight blue. The doctor was writing down some notes, before looking up at her and smiling. Regan usually didn’t smile much during these visits, they were very emotional for her, but this time was a little different….

 

Regan: “Why are you looking at me that way?”

ReganCastPic-Dr.-RossDr. Ross: “Because today you seem to be in better spirits, there is something about you that radiates a little more confidence, happiness and even content? The last time we spoke was three weeks ago and it was probably the best session we had. There is only one more after this and then it’s up to you moving forward and applying what we have learned about Regan to your life, which I am sure it has helped. There is nothing I want more than for you to find happiness, in order, for this to happen though, we must identify what it is that upsets or triggers this anger, these seas of emotions. So far Regan, you have been very honest and frank with me, I appreciate it, but now we need to continue to move on, reflecting on what has already been said, build on it. You were candid about the fears that plague your mind, the events from the past like the abduction with Otis Winston Meyer and the situation recently with Jennifer and Lancelot Crane. They are dark clouds which hover, dug deep in repressed memories, but I think now, you are learning to accept them, they don’t need to be haunting, right?”

Regan: “That is correct. It’s the whole reason I came here in the first and now I am learning so much more about myself. I didn’t think I would be able to say and admit some of the things I did to you, I know for sure to my family and friends, I like to keep up appearances.”

Dr. Ross: “Yes and let us talk about those appearances. Why don’t you want to show weakness?”

Regan: “There are a lot of reasons.”

Dr. Ross: “Give me an example.”

 

She takes a second to think, then glances over him, he could tell she was very reluctant with answering the question….

 

ReganCastPic-Regan9Regan: “The fans, they see me as this larger than life persona, a Hellcat, a woman that doesn’t back down from anyone, who runs into the ring and fights to the bitter end, they saw that in all my matches whether I win or lose, hey sometimes I get my ass kicked, knocked out, pummeled but I always get back up, I go back after the person who beat me, that is why where isn’t a wrestler in the SCW that I have faced, who I have not defeated, even if they win a match, I come back and take the next one, I am a fighter, it is the message I want to send to all the little girls there, stand up and fight, never give up. Hen if I go and tell them I am afraid of a monster like Xander because he is so damn unpredictable what does that make me look like?”

Dr. Ross: “Human?”

Regan: “No, a liar.”

Dr. Ross: “We all have fears, Regan.”

Regan: “Not in wrestling we don’t. That is why it can be so mentally draining keeping up appearances Doc, that is why sometimes I get lost in translation, there are moments in my life and especially career where I want to scream, all because I don’t know the answer on how I am getting out of some mess.”

Dr. Ross: “Mess? Like what?”

 

Regan pulls out her phone, she starts playing around with it for a moment before showing the Doctor, ti is footage from Fatal Fortunes Night 2….

 

The scene changes and we see Xander Valentine walking backstage, annoyed. Selena Frost storms over to him.

Selena: “Hey! Hey! You claim you respect me. The least you can do is explain what happened earlier?!”

Xander stops and takes a deep breath. He then calmly turns around.

Selena: “You cost them the titles.”

Xander: “Tommy’s arrogance did. And to be fair, he tempted fate.”

Selena: “I don’t get this…you claim you respect me. You claim you respect Regan. But you attack David last week and then tonight you cost Tommy and Kandis the titles. I never bought whatever you were sell but this is hard to understand.”

Xander: “Tommy played with a blunt instrument and it cost him. I had planned to settle up with him after. I come through with my promises. David’s called me out. He was thrown to me last week, as a result, I struck. Tommy called me out, I struck.”

Xander pauses.

Selena: “Some good that did.”

Selena stops and turns back.

Xander: “Just means I may have to offer to fix it.”

Selena stops and looks at Xander.

Selena: “And what does that mean?”

Xander: “Maybe Regan needs a blunt tool that will destroy to get her the last title she needs. Something you nor David will be dispassionate enough to accomplish.”

Xander turns and walks off. Selena just looks at Xander almost stunned.

Sharper: “Did Xander just suggest he should team with Regan to challenge for the World Tag Team Championship?”

Knots: “I think so…”

 

Regan cuts the feed right there. He could now see her mood change, it seemed like for the first time he saw doubt in her demeanor. This was not about fear. It was more about the unknown, stuck between a rock and a hard place. Doctor Ross Palkia knew that she was having issues with her husband’s best friend and girlfriend. It had become somewhat of a war now. He had to ask….

 

Dr. Ross: “This has to do with your husbands’ best friend and his girlfriend? Now from my understanding, he made a decision, yes?”

Regan: “Yes, David chose to side with me, it became pretty violent, he even had a confrontation with Tommy after my match with Xander, it became physical and then David went to my tag team partner, Selena, who you know, happens to be my sister in arms and one of my best friends, someone I trust with my life, there are not many like that here, Dr. Ross in the business I am in, everyone seems to be out for blood, and friendships are easily thrown out the window, trust me, I have done it too all for Championship gold. It takes time to realize what the hell are we doing? Is titles more important than people? At one point, yeah, they were but now I feel like I ma put in a very tough decision. See, I didn’t even know that altercation happened between Xander and Selena, totally oblivious to it all until I was finally told about it and that is when I started to think, what the fuck is going on. On social media, it seems I am the talk of the town, I don’t think very many people like me Doc, at least competitive wise.”

Dr. Ross: “Does that bother you at all?”

Regan: “Hell no, I eat that shit up. What bothers me is I don’t think there is any way positive out of this, someone is going to get their feelings hurt and I don’t think it is right. I see what it is doing to Selena, a few weeks ago we had a training session and I could tell she was bothered when David told her that he was “borrowing” me to go after Tommy and Kandis. At the time I played it off, I didn’t know where that was leading to honestly, yet a couple of weeks later, here we are and to complicate things, they are no longer the tag team champions.”

Dr. Ross: “How do you feel about teaming up with your husband, holding gold with him?”

Regan: “It is a dream come true, but when I was looking for a tag team partner, he was parading around like a really bad Mexican Luchador dressed like one of the skeletons from the Karate Kid when they beat up Daniel LaRusso. He did offer twice, my dumbass thought he was kidding, because at the time he was supposed to be retired.”

Dr. Ross: “Is that what you want?”

 

She couldn’t answer that, deep inside of course that is she what she wanted, to be with her husband, to win goal, sharing the experience but it was hard, because she committed to Frozen Hell, to Selena who dropped everything she was doing to help Regan win this. Leaning forward, Dr. Ross could see Regan getting flustered….

 

Dr. Ross: “Do you know what you want?”

Regan: “Does it matter? Anything I choose, whatever I do I’m going to hurt someone I love. Selena has been in Germany since the night I talked to her, I haven’t seen her, I text her a few times, they are noticeably short conversations. At this point, I don’t know what I am going to do, this is guilt I have, I can’t stand it and it is all because of that son of a bitch, Tommy!”

 

She has an outburst; things were going so well and now he sees exactly how she feels. The Doctor sits back, puts the pad down and folds his arms….

 

Dr. Ross: “Tell me about that night.”

Regan: “It was after Fatal Fortunes, the video I showed you earlier….”

 

 

Two Weeks Ago

After Fatal Fortunes Night 2

 

Things were a bit odd for Regan Street and Selena Frost. The two women had vowed to partner with each other as Frozen Hell, they had an attempt at the Tag Titles but came up short, they both blamed themselves, it was the nature of the beast. Selena and Regan were two very proud women that wanted to be there for each other, and it seemed like things had changed for the two ladies, where they found the team in trouble, the tag team titles were now held by William Blake Mason and Owen Cruze which put a damper on a lot of things moving forward. Regan knew the talk was going to go one of two ways, though she could see that Selena was concerned since David basically gave her no ultimatum. There had been a little bit of talk about it when they trained right before Fatal Fortunes, she already knew that Selena was thinking about it and Regan wanted to assure her no matter what happened, they were still a team but it was what Xander said earlier in the night which caught Selena off guard, even confronting him about it after he cost the titles for the Connection.

Selena sat in her Motorhome by herself. The show was over, the parking lot was empty. She sat on the couch, bare feet kicked up on the coffee table, she seemed preoccupied sitting there in Yoga pants, a sweatshirt, her hair braided, holding a cup of hot chocolate, it wasn’t until the door opened, Regan walked in wearing calf high khaki’s, flip flops and a BANG! T-shirt, her hair still wet from the showers, minimal makeup, her toenails polished black….

 

 Regan: “Hey bitch, always leave this unlocked?”

ReganCastPic-SelenaSelena: “Regan?! I thought you went back to your hotel room with David.”

Regan: “I told him I’d catch up later, besides, he is spending some time with his brother. You left rather quickly, I didn’t get the chance to say anything to you backstage, everything alright?”

Selena: “Uh…. Yeah…. Everything is fine.”

Regan: “Are you just sitting here drinking hot chocolate and staring at the wall?”

Selena: “Something like that.”

 

Right there Regan knew that something was wrong, and it was not that far fetched that she probably was aware of what it was, like their previous encounter while training before all of this started. She closed the door behind her, kicked off her flip flops and sat across from Selena, legs folded….

 

Selena: “You were awesome out there again tonight, showing why you’re one of the best Regan. Things may not have gone in our favor in the tag team ranks, but you have shown that you’re nearly unstoppable in the singles. I’m proud of you sis, I really am seeing the success come with the TV title.”

Regan: “Thank you, but that wouldn’t have been possible Selena, unless what we went through had happened and motivated me further, pushing me to limits I didn’t know existed. Datura did that last year and it sucks, Selena. It sucks that I need some shit like what happened before Retribution and at the PPV to get my ass in gear, it is not fair to you.”

Selena: “It’s okay, I was holding you down anyway.”

Regan: “Why do you say that shit, sis!? WHY!? You know damn well that I dropped the ball, I was the one who had her cocky head so far up her ass, I didn’t take Tommy and Kandis serious to a point until now. This is different, I see them as the next coming of Syren. I wish that I could turn back the fucking clock and go back to the Breakdown where I let that bitch blindside me, they should have never been in the match to begin with, but that was on ME, not you.”

Selena: “I should have done more.”

Regan: “Selena, stop.”

Selena: “Am I wrong?”

 

Regan seemed a bit confused by that reply….

 

Regan: “Why are you even asking that?”

Selena: “Why? Because you have options now Regan, they all want to team with you, I don’t see anyone knocking on my door to team with me. This is about you sister, that is why I wanted to share the moment, be there holding them tag team titles up high and proud as you became a Supreme Champion. This is what it was all about and now I find myself looking from the outside in.”

Regan: “Selena, this is not about David…..”

Selena: “….. it is about Xander!”

 

Regan’s eyes widen, she has no idea what Selena is talking about….

 

Regan: “What the shit are you talking about Selena? What does Xander Valentine have to do with any of this? What? The fact that he interfered and cost The Connection the titles tonight? Now those titles are out of our grips? The fact Tommy pissed off that big fucker and he is hell bent on destroying him because he stuck his nose in our match? I don’t; even know where Xander is coming from right now, okay? He has nothing to do with this sis.”

Selena: “He doesn’t?”

Regan: “No he doesn’t, he has nothing to do with this Selena.”

Selena: “Maybe that explains why he came to me and said that, “Regan needs a blunt tool that will destroy to get her the last title she needs. Something you nor David will be dispassionate enough to accomplish” and I quote.”

Regan: “He…. He didn’t say that.”

Selena: “Now you are calling me a liar, sis?”

Regan: “God damn it Selena, NO! I am not calling you a liar, why would he say that!? Did you approach him?”

 

She kicks her feet off the table, leaning right at Regan, pointing to her….

 

Selena: “I did, and I had a right to for what he did in that match. Those were our titles to win, and then came David, I can’t go against your husband, I can’t tell him no, Regan that is the man you’re married to, but Xander!? XANDER VALENTINE who threatened my family, yours!? Tore us both in half as we fought tooth and nail!? That Xander telling me right in my face that he is suggesting teaming with you to get the Tag team titles!? Are you serious!? How could he think you would even entertain it, yet I don’t put it behind him to come and take me out when I least expect it, or even David, all for what!? Respect!? Is that it!? Here I thought he respected me too for the fight I brought to him, for what I did at Rise To Greatness! The problem now is Regan, they all want to team with you! Who is next!? Sienna!? Bree!? Datura!? This was our journey!”

Regan: “It still is! But it is personal Selena between David, me and the Connection. Now, it’s not even about the tag team titles anymore, this is about the disrespect they claim I showed them and using me as a vice against my husband, trying to make him choose and tear us apart, after we have been family for years!? I can’t let that go, Selena. I talked shit, that was it and they took it to a whole new level. I didn’t want this, I never wanted this to be anything more than a match and the better team won, they showed they were on ONE night, I showed I can beat them one on one, so have you. We need to put it together…. But I don’t want this to be about me. It seems now the focus is on what I desire, the last belt so I could finally be a Supreme Champion, a TRUE Supreme Champion since the first day I started wrestling for this company. I made a promise to you Selena that this was our road, our path to take, it never changed, sister.”

Selena: “It has Regan, whether you want to admit it or not and I feel like I let you down, with your husband, now Xander and who knows who else, you can go on and become tag team champions. I wanted to travel that road, I have already held the belt, I wanted to do it with you. I don’t know what Xander is trying to pull, does it even matter? What we have now is a cluster, nothing more. You know that I will always be your partner, no matter what, always have your back, but you now need to make a decision, what way are you going to go. I can’t do it for you.”

 

Selena seemed defeated, it was breaking Regan’s heart, yet at the same time between the shock of Xander saying those things and her husband, ready to go at war with The Connection, the gorgeous Hellcat felt lost, there wasn’t a right or wrong decision here, there was only a choice and someone would get hurt. Burying her facial features in the palm of her hands, Regan sat there quietly, as Selena was angry, frustrated and upset, she could see that right now Regan was not in a good place….

 

Selena: “Regan…”

Regan: “…. No. I need to go, I need to think, better yet, I need a fucking drink.”

Selena: “Regan…. I’m sorry. I’m just hurt, confused right now, I don’t know what is going on.”

Regan: “Neither do I sis…. Neither do I. You just remember one thing, I made a promise to you too, Selena…. And I don’t break my promises. I just need some time for myself, I need to think.”

Selena: “Regan… please stay.”

Regan: “I can’t…. I’m sorry this is happening; I love you sis.”

Selena: “I love you too sis.”

 

There was nothing more to say, Regan hugged Selena, who didn’t want to let her go, they had a bond that could never be broken yet right now it was being tested…

The question was, would it survive.

 

 

Dr. Ross Palkia Office

Los Angeles, CA.

5.18.2020

 

He could see the worry and frustration from Regan and her friend. It was not easy for Regan to feel this way, Selena had been there for her the entire time since they buried the hatchet. It was guilt mixed with remorse and still the Hellcat felt like part of her was loyal to Selena and the other part wanted to see her and Dave team up. Dr. Ross could read the mixed emotions which Regan surely was making it worse out than what it really was. She took a second before letting out a deep sigh and speaking…

 

Regan: “I let her down and now I feel like I betrayed her trust.”

Dr. Ross: “By entertaining the team of you and David?”

Regan: “Yes….”

Dr. Ross: “And?”

Regan: “…. Nothing.”

Dr. Ross: “Regan, answer the question, and?”

Regan: “And…. Thinking about teaming with Xander.”

 

The Doctor seemed genuinely surprised by that comment, in many ways he couldn’t believe that she actually thought about it, the man she fears, the man who tore her to shreds, the monster who she was worried would attack her family…

 

Dr. Ross: “Okay, please explain?”

Regan: “I can’t. That’s the problem right now, I can’t fucking explain anything. I am not saying I would choose him over Selena or David, hell no I wouldn’t, all I am saying is I could see myself teaming up with that big bastard. I know it sounds insane Doc, but I must think about opportunities. I would NEVER choose him over my best friend and husband. I think things are a lot more complicated.”

Dr. Ross: “Why? Selena?”

Regan: “Selena, yes. I hurt her, letting her down when she dropped everything for me. David for forcing this shit on him with Tommy, I mean it was all normal smack talk, but Tommy had changed, I take some of the blame… but there is more and this is why while I love being a wrestler, I also hate it. I have always been afraid of losing my family due to this sport. I vowed never to again after David and I almost split for good. It took some time to really get to be at a good place within myself to have the confidence to be a mother, wife and athlete at the same time, you know the old saying, right?”

Dr. Ross: “Which one would that be?”

Regan: “Don’t shit where you sleep.”

Dr. Ross: “I am sure the business is kind of hard not to do that considering you guys are always traveling together and, on the road, that is how you met David, right?”

Regan: “Yes, that is how I met David. In the locker room, then I hitched a ride with him on a plane, we got to know each other, and I started falling for him right away, but it took a while before we actually started dating so yeah. It is extremely hard, spending time with the same people though some you hate with a passion, others you don’t mind their company. That was not what I was eluding too though. See, I have always had a remarkably close relationship with my adopted daughter, Jennifer, that I really haven’t talked much about other than the shit with Lancelot Crane. Jennifer is a special girl, she is someone that emulates the best in me, for it was rough at first, especially when her real parents abandoned her. It was a weird story, when I was taken by Otis, they found Rebecca, Jen’s sister and she fit my description, David identified the body and it wasn’t me. After the whole ordeal was over, David and I paid a visit to the family, helped them out financially, that is when we met Jennifer. I took her under my wing and now she is my daughter, there is nothing that will ever change that.”

Dr. Ross: “Okay, so how does Jennifer tie into all of this?”

 

Regan paused for a moment, she sat back in the sofa and let her hair down, running her fingers, scraping her scalp, she liked to do that when frustration set in. After rubbing her face some, Regan glared at Dr. Ross….

 

Dr. Ross: “I think this is going to take some time, yes?”

Regan: “Doc, I’m a good mother, it took me a long time to accept that fact. I used to think I sucked at it, honestly, I was just being too hard on myself. I had the same growing pains any mother has, from little Jay to AJ and finally Jennifer, each one we went through a period where we simply didn’t see eye to eye, and I was going to quit. I told you that the one thing I promised myself is I would never allow this business to get in the way of my family, yet at times it is even out of my control.”

Dr. Ross: “How so.”

Regan: “My daughter, much to the dismay of my son, AJ and even me for a short while though I warmed up to the idea, started dating fellow wrestler Owen Cruze, who I have mentioned to you before.”

Dr. Ross: “That is right, I remember, and at first you had issues, but seemed to have solved them, can it be safe to say that it was for your daughter’s sake?”

Regan: “That is a fair statement.”

Dr. Ross: “Okay, good. Is that is the case, then what is the problem now?”

Regan: “He has something I need to complete my goal and make history.”

 

Dr. Ross nods, knowing where this is going….

 

Dr. Ross: “I see. Then tell me, what is going on? Do you need to fight your daughter’s boyfriend to get what you want?”

Regan: “Yes, I do.”

Dr. Ross: “Then the question is simple, Regan, are you willing too?”

Regan: “Doc, I am a TV Champion, I have to wrestle every single week against the absolute best the SCW has to offer. This coming show I go up against Jake Starr, a legend, a bona fide Hall of Famer, a guy I have had a lot of history with, I need to focus on that and taking care of my mom, the rest of my family. Jennifer is her own woman, wrestling overseas every couple of weeks, she has her own place, is a top champion in her promotion and most of all is every happy. She deserves all that Doc and more. She has had a rough life, the kid has blossomed into a beautiful and talented woman, brave and stoic, taking after David and myself. I cannot say more good things about her. Her relationship with Owen is newer but it’s passionate. They love each other, I could see it every day she is with him, he brings out the best in her and I cannot ask for anything else.”

Dr. Ross: “I understand. So, I will ask again, is this something you are willing to do, the very last piece of the puzzle? Does it outweigh what you are feeling now? This is all part of our growth, Regan. Tough, life altering decisions that we never know which way they will end up; some leave it to chance, others think they can get away with it, unblemished. What are you willing to live with is the real question here and only you know the answer?”

 

All she could do is nod, before thinking just three days ago…..

 

Regan: “Jennifer was in town, and I went to see her.”

Dr. Ross: “How did that go?”

Regan: “Well….”

 

 

Jennifer Helms Loft

Los Angeles, CA.

Three Days Ago

 

Jennifer was home for a few days before jetting off to EMERGE. She had been having some issues of her own there and was trying to solve them on her own. Trying to spend as much time as she could with Owen, which wasn’t much while SCW was entering RTG Season. Regan wanted to talk to her, she knew that maybe Jennifer needed a little helping hand, a chance to get some stuff off her chest. The Hellcat arrived, she was in jeans, wedge sandals and a blue blouse, toenails polished a matte midnight blue, long brunette hair hanging down. She knocked, had some Chinese Take-Out they could share, as her daughter opened the door in a black sundress, barefoot with her nails a glossy finish and long brown hair hanging down. She half smiled, Regan could see she was obviously not in a good place, so she smiled holding up the bag of Chinese….

 

Regan: “Brought your favorite, Crispy Beef and House Fried Rice.”

Jennifer: “Mom, you didn’t have too.”

Regan: “I know but you have been in town a few days, you and Owen have that Engagement party of Peyton’s and Alistaire’s to go to, so I figured this was my one night that I could spend some time with my daughter having some Chinese and maybe watching something on Netflix?”

 

Jennifer smiles and stepped to the side, kissing Regan on the cheek as she walked in. The young Helms helped her mother with the takeout, placing it on the coffee table, before grabbing a few plates and two cold beers, she sat down next to her, Regan looking at the alcohol…

 

Regan: “How did you buy beer?”

ReganCastPic-Jennifer3Jennifer: “I am almost 20 now, mom.”

Regan: “Yeah, but not 21.”

Jennifer: “No one ever cards me, it’s because I’m hot.”

Regan: “Oh please stop, but you are hot and that is what worries me. Okay fine, long as you drink in the loft ONLY.”

Jennifer: “I do except when I am overseas.”

Regan: “Well that is different. Come one let’s eat.”

 

As Regan serves, Jennifer finds the show, Tiger King on Netflix, they start to watch while dining. They have a few laughs, stuff their faces and watch in horror the crazy people on the show. For about an hour it was nice and relaxing, Regan needed to unwind, spend some quality moments with Jennifer, which the same could be said for the young EMERGE Champion. Regan could see that professionally Jennifer was a little frustrated on how her title reign was being seen, she didn’t want to butt in, yet feeling like she needed to give her some advice….

 

Regan: “Listen, about EMERGE….”

Jennifer: “I was mad, I spoke my mind, I guess it was the Hellcat in me which came out.”

ReganCastPic-Regan8Regan: “And I am fine with it. I have been there before on many occasions, don’t let it get to you, alright? The business side of things we sometimes cannot control, what you do about it, is what you can. There have been times where I want to break into the boss’s offices and tear them apart, but after everything I have done in the past, we are better than that. You don’t need to follow the same path I did, you’re a better person than I will ever be when it comes to dealing with things in wrestling.”

Jennifer: “Why do you do that?”

Regan: “Do what?”

Jennifer: “Sell yourself short like that? Every time, it seems like you love to criticize yourself when you are one of the most genuine, outstanding and loving women I have ever met. Sure, you’re a Hellcat but that is in the ring, that is not who you are here. Mom, there is nothing wrong with wanting to be you, okay? If I could be half the woman you are in and out of wrestling, I feel like I accomplished something.”

 

It brought a smile to Regan’s face hearing that and while Jennifer was right, Regan was always her own worst critic and when she felt like she was in a good place, it was time to work toward a better one. Regan didn’t know how to answer it, she was feeling like maybe she did need to humble herself more, but this all changed with the next question Jennifer had for her…

 

Regan: “Thank you, that means the world to me you said that.”

Jennifer: “It is true. I wanted to ask you something since you’re here and I need an honest answer.”

Regan: “Sure, anything.”

Jennifer: “Owen is a tag team champion, are you going after him?”

 

She knew this was coming, the day her daughter would ask her about a potential match with Owen. With The Connection getting a rematch, Regan didn’t know how to answer it but honestly….

 

Regan: “I don’t know, maybe? But that all depends on this week’s show, who knows, they may not be the champions.”

Jennifer: “So, what you are saying is, you would consider it?”

Regan: “Jennifer, I don’t know. It all depends if he is still a champion or not. I mean, I don’t want to wait forever to get my shot at the tag titles again, it’s not like it’s something that I can just hide from or deny. I mean, do I want to do it, no….”

Jennifer: “Then don’t.”

Regan: “Jen, I get it, no one wants to see me fight your boyfriend but this is one of the reasons why I was so against you and him dating in the first place, knowing the day would come when we would have to face each other in the ring, yet this time he has something I want and I can’t just ignore it Jen, this is a huge deal here and I want to be Supreme Champion.”

Jennifer: “At what cost, mom? Owen’s? Yours? What about me?”

Regan: “Jennifer, I get it, you’re upset, it happens but this is wrestling, it’s not like I want to, I’m not calling him out, I haven’t staked my claim on anything yet. This is a very dicey situation which I have no idea I can divert. He has the last piece of my Supreme Championship puzzle.”

 

All Jennifer could do was roll her eyes, standing up and walking to the kitchen, Regan was ready to diffuse the situation, she didn’t want to fight with her daughter especially for something like this. Regan followed her in, leaning against the counter….

 

Regan: “Look, there is no need to argue here, alright? I know you are getting upset but that is the nature of the beast, Jenni, we are wrestlers, you had a match with Peyton in the finals of the Ricky Octavius Tourney and you left it all out there. She is your best friend, and you two were able to pull through.”

Jennifer: “That was different mom.”

Regan: “How so?”

Jennifer: “We were there for Ricky, the cards fell where they fell, it was a huge tourney, we ended up in the finals, she there was a chance for it, but a very slim chance. Owen is a tag team champion, and I am sorry if I don’t want to see my boyfriend and my mom, even dad fighting for a stupid title.”

Regan: “It’s not stupid.”

Jennifer: “It is when the price you pay is the family you swore to defend, protect and not lose over the sport of wrestling, right?”

Regan: “Jennifer, it’s not like Owen and I are going to try and kill each other. I wrestled the kid already once, and that was when I didn’t like him.”

 

Jennifer shakes her head; she knew that Regan wasn’t going to understand her feelings. Sighing, she turned around and threw some stuff in the trash….

 

Regan: “Okay, what is going on here, why are you feeling this way?”

Jennifer: “We already saw Helms versus Helms at Trios, even if it was Uncle Jason. They could pit you and dad against one another, and we would hate it. I just think this time you’re being selfish; it seems like you are more interested in becoming a Supreme Champion then protecting our interests. I don’t want to see you or Owen fight, and I am sure he would say the same thing to me that you are, and I’ll tell him the same thing again. Why is it so hard to understand? I don’t want you two to fight, period.”

Regan: “And if he holds that tag team title for like two years, I can’t challenge for it? I hate it too Jennifer but that seems unfair and unrealistic to ask.”

Jennifer: “Then maybe you should have won them when you had the chance.”

 

That statement burned Regan, it tore her down especially come from Jennifer, she didn’t know how to answer back, except nod, grabbing her purse and making her way toward the door…

 

Jennifer: “Mom…. Wait….. I….”

Regan: “No, you meant that. Goodnight Jen.”

Jennifer: “Mom…. I….”

 

She didn’t hear another word after closing the door. Regan made her way down the stairs and into the Jeep, putting it in gear, she sat there for a second, thinking about what happened, did she go against her promise, was she willing to make friction over personal gain….

Her teary eyes suggested, she didn’t have the answer to that.

 

 

Dr. Ross Palkia Office

Los Angeles, CA.

5.18.2020

 

Leaning in, Regan briskly ran her fingers through her hair. She looked a bit annoyed, upset some, because she was dealing with work interfering with life, knowing that when her daughter started dating someone Regan would end up wrestling like in Taking Hold of the Flame or even now, with the Tag Team titles, it was the belt Regan needed to finish her Supreme Championship run. With Jake Starr around the corner as well, she needed to maintain focus on that, her next TV Title defense. After a few seconds, her green eyes looked up at Dr. Ross, nodding and writing a few things down…

 

Dr. Ross: “Feel like you broke that promise?”

Regan: “Yes and no, but she hurt me with what was said, it was best I walked away. She has tried to call and text me, I haven’t responded, needed a few days to get myself together. She is in England now, so it doesn’t matter. At this point, I don’t even know what to say or do, I know this much Doc, I will not allow this business to tear my family apart no matter what.”

Dr. Ross: “If that meant not going after the tag team titles, the last belt you need so this doesn’t become an issue with your daughter over wrestling her boyfriend, you would do it?”

 

Regan slowly nods….

 

Regan: “Yes. I won’t fight him if it means that much to Jennifer. I maybe disappointed and hurt but I also know she is a 19-year-old kid and I was the same way at that age, spewing out the first things that came to my head. She is concerned, I get it, she doesn’t want us to wrestle, I attacked our old boss because he tried to make me wrestle my son. I need to practice what I preach, do it the right way and if that means I don’t become a Supreme Champion, I rather have my family intact.”

Dr. Ross: “Do you really believe it?”

Regan: “Yes, Doc, I do. I have made enough sacrifices in my life, I have seen too many things lost, both family and friendship, I almost killed myself back in 2013 when I turned my back on Trinity and my sister. I won’t go through the hell again, I won’t especially at the expense of my kids.”

Dr. Ross: “Then if this is the end, and you never get the chance to accomplish the one goal sought out to do, then what is next for Regan Street?”

 

She took a second to think about how she was going to answer it. Thinking about her husband, children, family and then the sport she loved. The trials and tribulations, most especially the breakup of Tommy and David. She thought of Jake Starr next in line, the Taking Hold of the Flame Battle Royal and finally the Supreme Championship. Her eyes start to get teary eyed some, looking away from the Doctor for a moment, the only words that she could think slowly muttering from her lips….

 

Regan: “The End.”

 

As her green eyes full of sincerity glance over at Dr. Ross Palkia, who lowers his notepad, reaches over and grabs her hand, shaking his head as she closes her eyes.

 

SCENE FADES

 

 


 

 

OLD SCHOOL

 

The Scene Opens…

 

The Winchester Mystery House is a mansion in San Jose, California, that was once the personal residence of Sarah Winchester, the widow of firearm magnate William Wirt Winchester. Located at 525 South Winchester Blvd. in San Jose, the Queen Anne Style Victorian mansion is renowned for its size, its architectural curiosities, and its lack of any master building plan. It is a designated California historical landmark and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is privately owned and serves as a tourist attraction. Since its construction in 1884, the property and mansion were claimed by many to be haunted by the ghosts of those killed with Winchester rifles. Under Winchester’s day-to-day guidance, its “from-the-ground-up” construction proceeded around the clock, by some accounts, without interruption, until her death on September 5, 1922, at which time work immediately ceased. Sarah Winchester’s biographer, however, says that Winchester “routinely dismissed workers for months at a time ‘to take such rest as I might'” and notes that “this flies in the face of claims by today’s Mystery House proprietors that work at the ranch was ceaseless for thirty-eight years.” Today the home is owned by Winchester Investments LLC, a privately held company representing the descendants of John and Mayme Brown. The home retains unique touches that reflect Mrs. Winchester’s beliefs and her reported preoccupation with warding off malevolent spirits. These spirits are said to have directly inspired her as to the way the house should be built. The number thirteen and spider web motifs, which carried spiritual significance for her, occur throughout the house

This is where we find The Hellcat, Regan Street the current TV champion and a woman who since before Cold Blooded has started to gain momentum and be on role after a slow start to the year and especially the last few months. Regan has picked up her game and even though she lost to Xander Valentine, she fought tooth and nail to the point it seemed like Xander respects her, but with the big monster, you just never know. Regan over Fatal Fortunes showed true tenacity, defeating Xander along with Katie Steward and Asher Hayes in a Chain on a Pole Match for her title and then the following week beating the monstrous Cain Adams, defending the TV Title again. Now she is up against Jake Starr, a man she knows quite well and has had feuds and respect recently. It is a break from what she has been facing lately but Starr is a very dangerous and cagey veteran who is looking for anything to take the TV title away.

Wearing jeans, slip on black wedge sandals and a matching black halter top, her long brunette hair hanging down, toenails polished a matte midnight blue, with the TV title over her shoulder, The Hellcat sits at the steps of the Winchester house…..

 

REC:

 

As the camera starts to roll, she takes a second to look over at the TV title before turning her attention back at the camera and speaking in her sexy yet direct voice….

 

ReganCastPic-Regan6“Fatal Fortunes….

It was a grind, man. Week one and two were tough challenges that honestly, I didn’t know if I would walk out as the Television Champion, yet I did and I will tell you why, I’m not going down that easily, people, get it through your skulls. I must admit, I am a bit flattered looking at Social Media, all these wrestlers that want to line up and get a tag team title shot, some looking for partners like Datura, others like Kandis and Tommy want to win it back because yes, losing those belts to Blake Mason and Owen Cruze, threw a monkey wrench in my plans….

I’m not beating up my daughter’s boyfriend to win a title.

Last year when I lost the Adrenaline Championship to Asher Hayes and then we drew the following rematch, that shit hurt my soul. I started to question my worth, if I still had it and before I continue this had NOTHING to do with Asher’s talent or ability, the guy is a fucking beast in that ring, I may not like his snarky, Beagle in heat approach but you cannot deny that dude can wrestle and make the best look like a bunch of rookies. It carried on though, missed opportunities in the Year End Battle Royal, these wars with Xander, multiple failed attempts at the Tag Team Titles, felt like the wall was closing in on me, and then it happened….

 I pissed off Tommy Valentine and seemingly wedged a sword into the brotherhood of he and my husband, David Helms. Thing is, while everyone blames me for my part in all of this, it was their actions, the futility in winning the tag belts which started to drive me like I was after I lost to Datura last year at Making Things Right. Winning or losing didn’t matter against Xander, it was about respect, because I went into the ring with a monster who kicked my ass, and I kicked his and it took EVERYTHING, even Tommy’s childish antics and interference to put me down, but I stood right back up to walk into the last two Breakdowns and beat the man who took my Adrenaline title in Asher Hayes, a Hall of Famer in Katie Steward who I know all too well and that same behemoth, Xander Valentine. Did it get any easier the following week? Cain Adams, almost the size of Xander as well? This, is why I do this, for the thrill of the fight, the love of the sport but most of all? The challenge because every time they think I am done, or I’m contemplating walking away to spend time with my family, this fire burns brighter, hotter and bigger than ever before….

And remind the entire company that I AM THE HELLCAT.

This TV title is like nothing I have held before, it tests your skills every single week, there is no rest for the weary, no days off, it is the reason this is one of the most underrated and hardest belts to hold on to for each challenger slowly chips away at you and if I survive this week again, I walk into the ring next week with another fucking legend. Nothing was going to stop me, I allowed my fate to be in the hands of the Fortunes, it isn’t like I was lucky, I didn’t draw an easy competitor, for it is hard pressed to have one of those in the SCW. Look at Syren, she lost to Derek Adonis for Christ Sakes, Cookie and Gio defeated Sienna Swann and my opponent this week, Jake Starr, anything can happen in the SCW, so you must be ready. I decided to come here to the Winchester House, it’s not like I can walk in, I know it is haunted, I also knew it would be quiet. I gave Mikaela and Delilah time off to go explore, this was something I needed to do alone for my next opponent is a man I have a great deal of respect for but he is also extremely important to my history in this company and was one of the few wrestlers who had a hand in my growth and made me better as an opponent and competitor, that is Jake Starr…

And I am honored to defend the TV Championship against this man, because this is going to be an Old School battle.”

 

Regan continues to sit, arms resting on her knees, chuckling a little as she turns away thinking about Jake Starr and what he has meant to her career, that of David Helms and her family. With Jordan Majors now training at Ante Up Academy, she now feels like there is a responsibility to not only give Jake the best match he has ever seen, but to also do it respectfully. That will not change her approach, Regan is a Hellcat, she fights to win, thinking Jake would appreciate it. After Fatal Fortunes, Regan has proven, she is back at the top of her game, but how much can her body hold out? She looks back up at the camera and speaks….

 

“Jake Starr is an especially important moment in the career of Regan Street. Back in 2013 when we met for the first time, it was on night one of Riding the Lightning. We faced each other, the ultimate match though was a build up between he and Syren for the World Championship. Everyone wanted to see the clash, but on that night, less than a year into my SCW career, I won the World Title from Jake and even though I only held it for one night, that moment made me realize just how much harder I needed to work to be a TRUE World Champion and a woman that could one day become a Supreme Champion as well. Jake gave me the first taste of glory; he was the one who showed me what it took to be at the top of this business. Some of you, especially the younger and newer wrestlers may not appreciate Jake Starr for what he has done, there are times he made mistakes, had a change in attitude and pissed every single roster member here off….

And to think Syren called me Jake Starr with tits once.

Thanks?

That was a compliment if I was being compared to him. I had the same attitude, the who gives a shit outlook, this is all about me. We both fought against the establishment, he had his way and I had mine. Jake blasted me with a Chair a few times, it was his calling card and I wanted to kill him for it, that is what made Jake and to this day it is what defines him, the perseverance and rebellious demeanor we all remembered. See though, some of you think Jake is not the same guy he was years ago, people talk about Jake like he has lost a step, or he doesn’t belong in the main event…

Bullshit.

Jake Starr is an establishment, he is a man who paved the roads for a lot of these young kids now, even me. We hated each other, there is no doubt about it, some was competitive jealousy, my relationship with David and honestly, two peas from one pod, so when you put two alpha’s like that together who take control of their careers and don’t care what anyone thinks, THAT is when the magic is created. Jake and I have fought many times over, it didn’t matter in what match, in what style, arena, venue, stipulation, from the time he cashed in his Trios Contract and ran the gauntlet when I was United States Champion, until now, Jake Starr never followed the script…

And neither did it.

That is why this is not going to be just a match; it is going to be a war.

There are a lot of people who may not agree with me, but what I see right now is a renaissance of the Old School, those that built the foundation of this company, from Josh Hudson to David Helms to Ace Marshall to Lucas Knight to Asher Hayes to Matt Hodges to Jake Starr and I also feel like I can include myself to a certain extent, We ARE the SCW but you see Jake, now I am going to talk to you direct, while there is respect and admiration between the two of us? That still doesn’t change the fact that you’re trying to take away a title that I just started to elevate and form a legacy around, one that I want to create each and every single week testing myself against the best talent in the world….

Including you.

And if you didn’t pay attention to Fatal Fortunes and what I did, I suggest that you watch the replay because that same fire and tenacity I fought with is what I am bringing to Breakdown. This isn’t the World or United States title, but it sure as hell to me just as important. See, Jake, I know you will never expect anything less from me, this is more than a title match, this is about what we have built in the SCW, this is about talent, an educational tool that people can rewind and watch, no bullshit…

Just wrestling.

We can fight, we can get down and dirty, we are capable of being creatures of habit, but one thing is certain Jake…

You and I are tearing the house down in San Jose tomorrow night!”

 

A fired up Hellcat is looking forward to a match where she doesn’t have to worry about underhanded tricks, her and Jake are beyond that, he has also formed a bond with her husband, they talked it out she and him not too long ago. They are friends, respected colleagues and competitors who know what each other has done. Their long history has forged this, and for Regan, no matter what happens tomorrow night, she will be in a fight, champion or not, she’s okay with it. Looking back up, she talks…

 

“They claim the Winchester house is haunted, I don’t know if I believe in ghosts or not, I have never really thought about it much, what I do believe is in demons, things we have done in the past that sometimes creep back up and will not let us go. For you and me Jake, we have that reputation, we aren’t squeaky clean, we were never the GOOD GUYS, there were many years when we were the most hated wrestlers in this company. It took a lot out of us, we wanted things to go our way no matter the cause. There were good people you beat with a chair; some were my family. There were good people I try to injure and end their career, that will always follow us no matter where we go, even when you and I could possibly one day be standing at the podium accepting our Hall of Fame inductions. I always wanted my family to be proud of me, just like I know you want the same with yours. It was different times Jake; we all grew up hoping what we thought at the time was necessary….

And now here we are one more match, this time for the Television Championship, a title you have held on a few occasions. This is my first reign, and some people think the belt is a starter kit for new wrestlers, how wrong are they? How many former World Champions have worn this title around their waist? Kennedy Street, Ravyn Taylor, Selena Frost, Damian Angel, Katie Steward, Amy Chastaine, you, me and how many future World Champions have taken this title and elevated it to a higher level?

That is MY goal Jake, to make this iron man and woman championship the premiere belt in the SCW, where wrestlers new and old want to test their skill, want to hold it proud. I thought I would have been tag team champion by now, that obviously wasn’t in the books yet, taking this from Tommy Valentine, your ex-tag team partner though was bitter sweet, to pinning his girlfriend and driving her head into the mats after she kneed me in the face and knocked me out a few months ago, that was for you Tommy. All of this, leading to defeating three Hall of Fame wrestlers at Fatal Fortunes to one Wonderland Monster. This is how I have stepped up my game, and yet some people say it is the champion, not the belt…

To me it is both.

Jake don’t disappoint me, man. Don’t take shortcuts or get desperate and try to cheat me out of this because if you do, I will take you down Jake. We maybe friends, but in that ring, we are opponents and I will treat you in the very same manner that I do my worst enemy, because you deserve the very best from me and I DEMAND the very best from you. For once, let us show these kids what SCW is all about, why Sasha has the best goddamn roster on the planet, why we will rise above all and plant the seeds going into Taking Hold of the flame and the road beginning to RTG. This has always been my home, I have never wrestled anywhere outside the SCW, I was born and bred here Jake and you had a hand in creating me, you had a hand in making The Hellcat, and maybe we hated each other then, we are long past that petty bullshit now.

Thank You, Jake for everything you’ve done for my career, and come tomorrow night, I will show you the results of that yet again, because right now I am feeling pretty fucking invincible and nobody is going to just waltz in and take this TV title away. Fatal Fortunes wasn’t what you hoped, I know you’re angry and determined as hell to come and try to beat one of the top wrestlers in this company after what Sienna did and then getting pinned by a rookie named Cookie, but that has always been you Jake, never letting a misstep or drawback control your destiny and that puts a smile on my face, because a determined Jake Starr with a purpose, I will welcome anytime….

Even if I will do all I can to keep you down.”

 

She slowly stands up, holding the TV title proud over her shoulder, Regan brushes her hair back and then turns to the camera, her green eyes narrow, taking a deep breath before pointing at the title….

 

“It will be my match for the ages, but at the end of the day, no friend or foe is going to take this from me….

For just like the rest of them before you, “Chariman”?

It Ends in a CATastrophe.”

 

Holding the title up, Regan smirks….

 

“Roar Bitch, Roar”

 

…. And then winks.

 

 

FADE TO BLACK

 

/REC

 

Leave a comment