Vs. THE JACKASS & BIG ASS CONNECTION: RTG 2020 RP 1

 

REC:

 

ReganCastPic-Regan9“I’ll be the first to say that I always thought I had all the answers to life’s questions. Everything seemed so simple when I was younger, an upstart in the SCW, the chance to compete against the best in the world. Here I was some punk bitch, brash and crass, thinking that her shit didn’t stink. I remember how nothing fazed me, how I would go into every situation, guns a blazing. I never had the time or energy to look back at what I did and regret it, I simply moved on. I guess that is one of the questions I could never answer, maybe it was because I didn’t want to, or it could have been a instance where I didn’t care, but when you look back now at the last eight years of my life, what I have done in the business whether you loved or hated me, my actions itself were done for reasons that pertained to that time in my life and career.

It doesn’t mean I have to be proud of them, but I do own it.

Anyone who knows me personally, and look I was not a social butterfly, I never had a large circle of friends surrounding me at any point in my life, for I am a woman that beats to her own drum, that would never change, but more that as I get older, still making a lot of mistakes in my life, which I do recognize now, has in the last eight years, really helped me to understand who I am, what filters I am willing to use and why I am here, today as not only a valued member of the SCW Roster, but also having a chance to make history at Rise To Greatness, which let’s face it, is take it, or lose it for what could be a very long time. Back in 2012, I would have never even fathomed the challenges I am against, to understand and really comprehend what is next for me can be a difficult task. All I wanted to be was the best….

Not in this lifetime or the next, because if there is one thing I have learned, is there is always someone better than you. There has been so many trials and tribulations throughout the Hellcat’s wrestling venture, hell when I started in SCW, I didn’t even know who I was as a person, playing with my sexuality, hooking up with women like Dawn and Brittany Lohan, even Madelyne McTaggert back when she was cute. Trial by error has always seemed to be my method of approach, it wasn’t until I started to date Lucas Knight and seeing who I really was. I am happy that he is inducted into the Hall of Fame, the way things ended with us was wrong, but I am ecstatic that he found Trinity and she found him. Our relationship has been great since, he has become a source of knowledge and a mentor, and yet looking back, I can say with conviction that some choices I made, were terrible, so desperate to climb the mountain to the top that I almost lost my family for it…

Like CHBK.

I don’t like the guy, but he’s a wrestling genius. I may think he’s a piece of shit, but he is a legend and someone who had a hand in my development, and one thing that I took from CHBK was this, you can’t trust anyone in this business. You may think they are friends, lifelong partners, who would never stab you in the back and before you know it, the cold blade is logged right in, never expecting it. I have done that to friends, family, people I cared about all for one thing, this business….

And THIS is where I started to realize, I was wrong.

The shiny championship belts are a lure like fish in the sea, once you are hooked, it reels you in. Nothing else seems to matter, not love, camaraderie, sister, or brotherhood. I let it hook me in, I didn’t identify it for what it was, all I cared about was that, nothing more but as I started to mature, and see just how important all those others factors were compared to be the champion, the empire of dirt wasn’t so enticing, and while I learned from CHBK and saw exactly what he meant by the sacrifices made, in turn I did so realizing the only sacrificial lamb was myself. Jesus Christ man, I love professional wrestling more than anything in my life except for the family I took for granted and in the end almost lost it all, living the rest of my days with accolades…

Alone.

Thinking back to those wrestlers who pushed me to my limits like Marina Trent, Syren, Amy Chastaine, Ace Marshall, Selena Frost, Datura, Xander Valentine, Asher Hayes and I am sure there are many more, it was one of them that I thought would stand in my way to becoming a Supreme Champion, they would stop me or at least try from crossing the finish line, and then what? Would that be the end of my storied career, do I have the patience and the drive to continue? The passion still burning within my soul to reclaim my spot at the top of the food chain, right? At what point do I stop and open my eyes one more time, and realize a man just a year ago I shared laughs with, sat across the table and had dinner, drank and partied together, told stories and welcomed him like he was a brother is now the one who wants to stop me from fulfilling my last dream in this company and solidifying my legacy so I can look back and smile that no matter what shenanigans I pulled, who I hurt or betrayed, what lines I crossed or friends I lost….

In the end, I did it the right way.”

 

/REC

 


 

THE ROAD TO GREATNESS

CHAPTER ONE

 

For many the road leading into Rise to Greatness was a long and arduous one, that can be said by the Hellcat, Regan Street who has found herself now with the back to the wall in her tag team title match with The Connection, her partner of course. Selena Frost. For the two women this was basically their last chance, and with the added stipulation the United States Championship was on the line, it raised the stakes that much higher. Regan knew that everything favored The Connection, there wasn’t a stipulation on there that went on the side of Frozen Hell. She wasn’t happy about it, matter of fact, she was downright furious for many reasons, but Regan needed to remember that this time of year, she should be used to it. Regan found herself preparing, at times worrying but always ready for whatever challenge was placed in front of her, this was it, her last chance at immortality for a very long time. The gorgeous wife od David Helms had other fires burning as well, of courses she had her husband selling Ante Up, he was in the Main Event of RTG, a feat she never accomplished, but most importantly, they both were about to experience two of the biggest nights in their careers. After trying one time before, she had failed and Regan knew that her chances for this was going to slim down rather quickly, this was the stage, the moment she waited for. There was also her family, her movie, the filming of her docu-series, everything that was building around her, and even contemplating leaving the ring which was an idea that continued floating through her mind, but Regan wasn’t a quitter, she wasn’t someone that would just walk away so easily, instead she wanted to have this last chance and reassess what happens afterwards. The key to Regan’s success as tag team champion though was Selena. It was about their strong bond, the kind that needed to have no more questions and just results. They had a bad habit of blaming themselves for failures and could never get past that. Regan though knew that there was more to this than just having a chit chat, as both ladies were headstrong it wasn’t solved that easily.

Nothing was ever easy.

 

Breakdown

Washington, DC.

7.15.2020

 

Regan had a good show with Selena as they defeated Las Bandidas De La Gata Negra. Her and Selena were very excited to know they could go up against another team that was established and get the win, what she didn’t like though was when she saw her husband get pinned by Bree Lancaster in the Main Event. Regan wasn’t happy, if anything she was downright livid, bothering her to the point, it was hard to get over. She cared about David and wanted him to be successful. He wasn’t like her though; he took it all with a grain of salt. That still didn’t mean that she wouldn’t be concerned about David, one thing she wanted more than any was to see him as the World Champion. She was visibly upset in the locker room when it was all over, wanting to get David out of there as she tended to his wounds, still in their wrestling gear. Delilah and Mikaela looked on upset…

 

ReganCastPic-DelilahDelilah: “She looks pissed, mate.”

Mikaela: “Can you blame her; it seems like lately everyone has gotten one over on them. There is only so much Regan can take before she finally explodes, my sister can be calm and cool, but trust me, she is a ticking time bomb when it comes to this. So much has changed Delilah, it’s crazy to see where the lines are drawn now. It doesn’t take a genius to understand what the hell is happening and just how much more Regan is going to take of it. We should probably leave her alone with him.”

Delilah: “Are you sure? I think right now she needs all the help she can get, right? I mean, we need to do something. Remember what he said to us, don’t stoop down to their level, we need to be better than that.”

Mikaela: “We are not.”

Delilah: “Then why do I feel like kicking her arse all over the Lincoln Memorial and blaming it on protesters? I get the whole let’s not be like them, but isn’t it so much fun just kicking them, like once?”

reganCastPic-Mikaela4Mikaela: “Delilah.”

Delilah: “One little time. One intsy wintsy little time?”

Mikaela: “Delilah, no.”

Delilah: “We are we going to do then? Leave like you said? We have to do something, mate.”

Mikaela: “We are doing something; we are letting them be.”

Delilah: “That is just so damn boring.”

Mikaela: “Delilah.”

Delilah: “Alright…. Alright.”

Mikaela: “Regs, we are stepping out, leave you two alone.”

 

Regan nodded, didn’t even turn to look at her sister. Delilah and Mikaela left room, Regan sat there in silence, placing ice on his ribs….

 

Regan: “Maybe you should see the trainer.”

ReganCastPic-David2David: “I’m fine.”

Regan: “David…. Please.”

David: “I said I am fine! I…. I’m sorry…. I didn’t mean to yell at you babe.”

Regan: “Don’t apologize to me, you did nothing wrong and many times that I have lost my shit, you are entitled to yell at me once in a while. Let’s go back to the hotel, have a drink, relax and get you settled in?”

David: “I was supposed to hang out with Lucas and Jason tonight, celebrate his Hall of Fame induction, and all that.”

Regan: “It can wait, please?”

 

He was hesitant, really looking forward to that time with those two gents, but instead he realized that his wife was right, he needed to relax, it was only two weeks away before he challenged Bree Lancaster for the World Championship and with everything else going on in the SCW especially with Tommy and Kandis, their plates were very full. Rise to Greatness was going to be the most important event of their careers, there couldn’t be any mishaps….

 

David: “Babe, I am fine.”

Regan: “Yes and you’re a stubborn goat. Have them come and hang out with you at the hotel, seriously David, I don’t want you going anywhere outside it. At least there you can hop on the elevator and head to the room, can we at least compromise on that?”

 

It didn’t take him long to nod and agree….

 

David: “Okay, I can compromise on that.”

Regan: “Good. Now come, let’s get you cleaned up and out of here.”

David: “Sorry about worrying you and….”

Regan: “Babe… shhhh…. I love you, and I want what is best for us. I don’t want anything to happen which could prevent either from competing at their best. We both need this right now, okay? This can’t be a tale of the bad guys winning, I refuse to allow that to happen. Come on, let’s get out of here.”

David: “Okay.”

 

As she helps her husband up, they get themselves cleaned up, fresh change of clothes, heading back to the hotel as planned. It wasn’t. After about an hour, David was downstairs at the bar with Jason and Lucas, it was a boy’s thing. Regan sat in the hotel room in jeans, a Beatles t-shirt, barefoot with her long hair hanging down and toenails polished a matte red. She was drinking a beer ordered from room service and a candy bar she hadn’t touched yet. Her green eyes fixated on the news when she hears a knock on the door. Regan wasn’t expecting company especially close to midnight. The Hellcat walked over to the door, she realized who it was, opening it as Trinity stood there in jeans, wedge sandals and a white blouse, her long brunette hair was in a half ponytail, nails polished a black cherry, with her inviting smile as Regan said nothing, embracing her cousin and mentor….

 

ReganCastPic-Regan8Regan: “I didn’t know you were here!?”

Trinity: “Sasha called me the other day, filled me in on Lucas being inducted into the Hall of Fame, so I made a trip out, he didn’t know I was in the back watching, until I surprised him. I let him go hang out with the boys, David let me know what room you were in, and wanted to see if you had any interest in walking down DuPont Circle.”

Regan: “You know what? I would love to.”

 

Regan slipped her feet into a pair of thong sandals, finished her beer, and walked out with Trinity. They had some small chatter, hadn’t seen each other in a few weeks, things have been crazy for Regan, traveling all over and wrestling, also so busy with her docuseries. As they get outside and start to walk the circles, many café’s and restaurants are still open, they run into a gelato shop….

 

Trinity: “Gelato? My treat.”

Regan: “Sure. Sounds great.”

 

Walking in, they both get their flavors, Trinity with Lavender and Regan with Grapefruit. Enjoying their frozen treat, it was a nice night, a little humid but not unbearable, they were able to see the DC Monuments not too far away. It was a much-welcomed change of pace for Regan, but she knew the conversation was coming….

 

Regan: “I know why you brought me out here.”

Trinity: “Not for a friendly walk and gelato?”

Regan: “No. We both know this, Trinity.”

trinitycastpic1Trinity: “Regan, I love you like a sister and we have been down the road for a long time. Some of it was on the same side, some of it was not. We can look back to the day I helped you drug Marina Trent and dye her hair blonde. Or the moment you betrayed me for CHBK, we can go back the finals of the Trios Tournament where I punted you in the head and knocked you out, winning the whole damn thing, we can go back to when you defeated me at the end of 2015 for the World Championship, but in the end, the one thing that we will always remember is the time we spend together when you were a young woman so anxious to make it into the business. I remember the fire I used to see in your eyes, the passion which oozed from your pores, the excitement every single time you talked about a match and most importantly the drive that guided you into the biggest matches of the year. There were what I found most fascinating about you Regan, the way you lived for the sport. In time that changes, I get it, but you always had it.”

Regan: “You know how much I love SCW and wrestling, as a whole. I breathe, eat shit wrestling, but as time goes on, you know that priorities change and then we have to remember what it is life after the business. You come to the grim reality of it and then as yourself, what is next or when will it finally come the time to see it end.”

Trinity: “Look at me for a moment.”

 

Regan turns, staring right at Trinity…

 

Regan: “What is this about?”

Trinity: “I don’t see it anymore.”

Regan: “You don’t see what?”

Trinity: “The passion, the love you had for the business, the continuous fire which burned, I just don’t see it anymore. You seem to be going through the motions, Regan.”

Regan: “Please don’t question my passion for the business, of that fire, it’s there.”

Trinity: “Is it? Because if I were to bet right now in Vegas, I would do so on the Connection to defeat both you and Selena, know why? I don’t see a Hellcat; I see a woman that is afraid to lose.”

 

Regan stops walking. Finding a bench, she sits down, staring at what is left of her gelato. Trinity sits next to her, she knows that a chord was struck with her cousin, and she didn’t want to, but it was an observation she saw in her cousin the last three or so months, maybe longer….

 

Regan: “I peaked at Datura. Maybe this is my downfall, I’m feeling.”

 

That was not the answer that Trinity expected. Turning to her cousin, she could see there was an inner struggle going on with Regan, one that was starting to worry her some because she had been there before. There comes a time in everyone’s career when you need to make a choice, it is the same feeling you get when things are starting to wind down or wonder what is left for me to prove. Never in a million years did Trinity ever think the fire would burn less with Regan like it has now. She was worried about her protege and knew that this was the opportune moment to help her….

 

Trinity: “Do you remember after Apocalypse 2012? The first PPV you were ever in for the SCW, I think you were the second or third match of the night, facing Marina Trent for the Women’s Championship, and in reality, the only reason you were given a shot was because McTaggart left shortly after RTG?”

Regan: “Yeah. I remember it like yesterday.”

Trinity: “You were so dejected losing your first match in SCW, the chance to become the Women’s Champion and spent months pursuing the title, but do you remember that night, when we took a drive to the pier, both sat on the hood of the car and just gazed out into the stars and talked about wrestling?”

Regan: “Yeah, I was angry, pissed really if we want to be truthful here.”

Trinity: “I know you were, but what was it I said?”

Regan: “There will be many more nights like this, and I need to use those experiences to remind me why I can’t continue to have them. You told me that I needed to make a statement, so the next Breakdown, we drugged Marina and dyed her hair blonde.”

Trinity: “And from then on, what happened?”

Regan: “I had her attention until the bitter end when I finally defeated her for the Women’s Championship.”

Trinity: “That is right, because you persisted, something that you have done the entire time. From Marina to Syren, Amy to Selena and Datura to even Asher and Xander, you continued to fight until they remembered your name and knew who Regan Street was, cumulating into what you have become today, but for some reason, this is different, why?”

 

The Hellcat didn’t answer, biting on a spoonful of her gelato instead. Trinity was willing to sit there all-night waiting for an answer if need be. Her mentor was there for Regan, if there was anything, she could tell anyone it was Trinity….

 

Regan: “Things change, I have too. It’s not that I don’t love this business, Trin, I think we both know that. Maybe the passion isn’t where it used to be? I have lost a lot more matches in the last year than I have in previous, maybe 2016 was really my only bad year and I finished it strong. I could look at all of things, I’m 31 one now, that is young, not like I’m old, but I have something to live for other than gold, wins and accolades. I don’t know if it is fair to say that these things do not matter to me, they do, you don’t understand how bad I want to be a Supreme Champion, that is all I can think about and yet it scares the hell out of me thinking I could fail and walk away with nothing and you know what? It’s not even about the titles, it’s about the principle, that Tommy Valentine would have the audacity to turn on David like he did and get the last laugh. I couldn’t live with it, because David had his chance to shut him up and instead Bree cost him that opportunity and tonight, whether he wants to say it or not, she rattled his confidence. I don’t know…..”

Trinity: “What don’t you know? What needs to be done at Rise to Greatness? The fact that everything is on the line and your back is the bloody wall, flower? Look at me, Regan, please.”

 

She slightly turned, eyes connecting…

 

Trinity: “Do you think this is the end of the road?”

Regan: “I don’t….”

Trinity: “Let me stop you right there and please give me a second to say something here.”

Regan: “… fine.”

Trinity: “I don’t have to tell you what is already on the line. You know, and deep down inside I think it is your confidence that has been rattled. When things didn’t go your way against Asher, because of the high you felt against Datura, the missed opportunities to cash in your Trios Contract, the losses to Xander, Cookie and The Connection, they have teetered with what you think the Hellcat is made of, but then I remember how you constantly persisted and dropped everything to get revenge on Datura at RTG, or how during Fatal Fortunes, you fought like the woman I trained against Xander and Asher defending the TV Title, or flat out beat Tommy Valentine and Kandis in those matches as well, and maybe you were not the winner against Xander, but damn it you earned his respect. DO NOT make the mistake I did, Regan. Do not go into this match thinking about revenge for what Tommy did to David, you clear that out of your head now, and instead walk into Rise to Greatness with one goal, The Hellcat as Supreme Champion, because if you do not, trust me love, you’ll regret it the rest of your life. I did.”

Regan: “You did, how?”

Trinity: “When I allowed my hate and abhor on CHBK to control my destiny. I threw away everything I wanted in the SCW. I wanted to be World Champion ONE more time, I wanted a run that people would remember, ONE more time. These other little promotions I joined and won their top titles meant nothing in the end love, it was this place that did. There are a lot of shitty things I have done stupid in my life no question about it, mistakes I made in and out of the ring, those I can live with, but the one that continues to harp into my brain every single waking moment of my day, even when I look in my ten year old daughter’s eyes, I still cannot forget the decision that ruined my SCW career. It has been over four years, and all I wanted was to help Kennedy become a World Champion, even hold the tag team titles, be a part with her at RTG, but even that didn’t go as planned. You have the chance to make all those moments, good or bad mean something in the end with a win at RTG, love. Do NOT sell yourself short, you’re better than either one of them, Regan. Selena is too, the only reason why you are not tag team champions is because you haven’t been able to pull your head out of your ass. Do what I taught you, what you’ve picked up all those years. Think about the night you almost took your life for something so trivial as that, but remember why, the passion of the win, the fear of the failure.”

 

Regan didn’t even know how to respond, it almost became a moment of clarity for the Hellcat as she sat there, eyes widened, turning away, and staring at the ground. Her eyes had started to swell some, realizing what she had been doing all the time. And though all she could think about was her choices, what would she do if she lost, never once did she think about what she would do, had she won…..

 

Regan: “I want to start a family at some point, and I know that I have time. The fear of failing because of what this has done to David and Tommy is what really hangs me up.”

Trinity: “Do you think Tommy and Kandis feel the same?”

Regan: “Probably not.”

Trinity: “Not probably, they are not. Tommy made his choice, and whether your words were a driving force or not, he has the chance to bury things with David, this escalated….”

Regan: “Things escalated because I opened my fucking mouth. I can admit that sure he handled it poorly, but so did I, and I feel responsible for what happened, I basically destroyed a great friendship.”

Trinity: “No, you didn’t Regan! Stop blaming yourself for that and accept this is how things are now, moving forward. Do not worry, it happens, now go to RTG, and take the bloody gold! Become a Supreme Champion and then watch your husband win the World Title. That should be your goal Regan, not these doubts, I didn’t teach you that and if anything, use me as an example, see what I did and how I cut my career short. I still want one last run; I just don’t know if I will ever get it. Make this your legacy, make this the night you become Supreme.”

 

Regan simply nodded, sitting up and leaning over to embrace Trinity tightly. She needed to hear this; it was a moment to put everything into perspective. All that was left, walking into Minneapolis, and readying herself for what was next. She couldn’t fail if she just believed in herself.

 

An Hour Later

 

They had settled in, Regan was already in bed about to get some sleep, David had arrived about fifteen minutes prior, unbuttoning his shirt, still sore but feeling better about earlier in the night. The phone buzzed on the nightstand, Regan reached over, it was a Text message on David’s phone as he was changing out of his clothes, Regan reached over and saw it was Selena….

 

Regan: “It’s Selena texting you at 2:00 am. She wants to talk to you downstairs. Her motorcade is parked outside in the parking lot.”

David: “I will go talk to her.”

Regan: “Are you sure babe?”

David: “Yeah, I’m sure.”

 

Regan nods, tying a response that he is on his way. They kiss before he heads downstairs. Regan gets up, looking out the window, where after a few minutes her husband is seen walking out to the Motorhome. Regan continues to watch, resting her head on the glass, closing her eyes, letting out a sigh….

 

Regan: “Damn it.”

 

Turning around and heading back to bed.

 

Los Angeles National Forest

Two Days Later

Regan and Selena needed to have some time alone together, it was pretty obvious this was their last chance at tag team gold, and they would need to have their ducks in a row. For Regan though, she felt like she failed Selena as a tag team partner the last two outings versus The Connection, it was already proven that as a team, those two were so well together, that Regan never really gave them the credit for that and it showed in their first outing when Kandis took her out. Regan later proved that one on one with both, she was the dominant wrestler, but this wasn’t the singles scene. It was about the one title that has escaped her the few times she challenged for it, twice in her entire 8-year career. Selena had come over, Regan had already talked to her about possibly going to Germany with her to visit Deanna, spend time with the kids, maybe get away from everything and clear her head.  It made sense, could help with how Regan felt too. What better way to bond?

Rock Climbing.

The two women were in the Angeles National Forest, it was not a big mountain, but enough for the two to take a stab at it. Regan was decked out in gear much like Selena was, almost to the top as the Hellcat placed her hands firmly on the wedge, lifting herself up closer to the to the top. A rope connected the two incase one fell, hammering into the stone….

 

Regan: “We are almost to the top, are you holding on?”

ReganCastPic-SelenaSelena: “I am getting this feeling you think I’m falling.”

Regan: “Well, it was your dumb idea to go rock climbing, in this team building exercise, we could have easily gone jogging, Selena.”

Selena: “Pssht. Please, where is the adventure in that, besides imagine the view.”

Regan: “I live in the Hills, Selena, I see the view every day.”

Selena: “You are a damper, know that?”

Regan: “Whatever bitch, the last hook is hammered in, you should be able to grab on to the least wedge here, as I am almost to the top. I also am The Hellcat, if I don’t know how to climb shit, I am completely embarrassing myself.”

 

Regan was ahead of Selena, almost at the top of the ridge, a rock a lot of people climb, luckily, they went early in the morning and no one was there. Regan hoisted herself up to the very top, on her knees, looking over as Selena was three quarters of the way there….

 

ReganCastPic-Regan3Regan: “I must admit, it is pretty cool up here, you should see it.”

Selena: “Yeah…. That is what I am trying to do.”

Regan: “I can see that you are almost up, do you need a hand.”

Selena: “I get this feeling you’re enjoying this.”

Regan: “Me, nah. You almost got it, sister. I can actually reach my hand and grab you, but then you pull me over and I fall to my death and….”

 

Regan was taunting Selena and having fun with it. The platinum blonde was finally reaching the top, where Regan could see her fingertips scraping the edge. Regan reaches over, hoisting her up to the top, they both pat themselves down as Selena looks around, able to see the ocean….

 

Regan: “Told you it was beautiful.”

Selena: “Majestic even. You can see the ocean, there is Santa Monica Pier. It is an incredible site.”

Regan: “Sure is, now time to get down.”

Selena: “Are you kidding, we just got here!”

Regan: “I know, and now we have no audience, it is just you and me, there can’t be any interruptions, no one is butting into our conversation. Okay, we are team building, we should probably be working on our tags in the ring, double team moves, stuff that pertains to the match.”

 

Selena didn’t respond right away, she stood there allowing the breeze to flow through her hair after taking it out of the ponytail. She looked content, as Regan looked up, wearing a ball cap, her hair was nicely snug under it with the ponytail coming out of the flap….

 

Regan: “Did you hear anything that I just said?”

Selena: “Yes sister, I heard everything that you said and yes, you are right. We should be in the gym, we could be working on out techniques, but I don’t think that is what we need right now.”

Regan: “Then what do we need?”

 

She slowly looks over her shoulder to Regan….

 

Selena: “Trust.”

Regan: “Selena, I trust you, whatever happened with us back in the day was just that, it was bullshit and my piss poor attitude. I wanted things my way, they didn’t go the way I wanted and well, I lost it. 2016 was years ago, or at least it seems like it was. We had our wars. You kicked my ass, I kicked your ass, you won some, I won some, shit happened and then it was all over. When Datura left me a mangled waste last year, I started to realize that I was too cocky for my own good, it came out again earlier this year against Tommy and Kandis, where I learned that I need to just shut the fuck up and do my thing in the ring like I did with the TV title until Cookie came along.”

Selena: “Owen surprised me too when he was a rookie, they get theirs, I wouldn’t worry about that. We have had a history and with so much on the line this time and the two times we have not been able to defeat them, our backs are to the wall.”

Regan: “I know this already.”

 

The Hellcat sighed, dropping her backpack, and sitting on a large rock, Selena though was mesmerized by the view, she felt at peace in their surroundings. Regan though seemed a little agitated, Selena caught on to that….

 

Selena: “I don’t mean that kind of trust, I mean within ourselves and it seems like we are lacking it. The confidence, the fear of failing each other. We both must admit that we are harder on ourselves than anyone else, our own worst critics.”

Regan: “I know that. What does rock climbing have to do with it?”

Selena: “You trusted me to climb this rock with you, just like I trusted you, that already showed we are strong and unified, but within ourselves, that is what’s questioned. Tell me something, Be honest, do you think we can win?”

Regan slowly nods….

 

Selena: “Okay, then here is the other question, do you think we will win?”

 

Regan shrugs her shoulders. Selena turns around, knowing that was the answer she was going to get from Regan, deep down inside, the Snow Queen felt the same way. She didn’t know if they could overcome The Connection in the frame of mind, they were in.  

 

Regan: “Selena, these days I don’t know what will happen, had you asked me this a couple of years ago, I would be bragging how I was going to be Supreme Champion and you still United States Champion, but that has changed since. I don’t know anymore; do I trust you? Absolutely. Do I trust us as a team? Yes, I do. Do I trust me? No. I am trying my best to be rational about all of this. I think about what happened with so many others I faced, the confidence I had, even against you. This though has become so personal, what they did to David the last few times, I am angry Selena, and that scares the shit out of me. I can’t be angry; I need to be focused. For the first time in my career I cannot go in there an emotional bomb ready to explode, I have to let things go and wrestle as a professional looking for the final piece to my career. I have all these scenarios running through my head, most of them is what happens when we lose, and it shouldn’t be that way.”

Selena: “Do not be afraid to fail, Regan.”

Regan: “I am not afraid to fail me, I am afraid to fail you. David, my family, everyone. That scares the hell out of me and for the first time since Datura at RTG last year? I don’t know if wee can win! I feel like this is all my fault and….”

 

Selena quickly interrupts her….

 

Selena: “And that is it! You think it is all your fault that we failed to win the first two times against them, right?”

Regan: “Yes, but not just that, the things I said about Tommy and Kandis.”

Selena: “They deserved it….”

Regan: “…. No Selena, that is the problem, they didn’t deserve it, how they reacted I cannot change, but I cannot wash my hands of everything and point fingers at just Tommy and Kandis, no because I feel maybe I should have done something different and my husband would still have his best friend.”

Selena: “It is not your fault…..”

Regan: “YES, IT IS!”

 

As the roaring reply by Regan echoed through the mountains and rocks, Selena walked over to Regan who was visibly shaken, because for the first time in this entire ordeal, she has taken the blame for what happened between Tommy and David. Her eyes tear up some, Selena tries to grab her hand, but Regan pushes her away….

 

Regan: “I can’t right now.”

Selena: “Regan, there were things you said that may have sparked some of this, but he had no right to confront David and make him choose. That was not his place and you would have never done that to David, I know it. Tommy chose his path as we did ours. We came up here to build our trust within ourselves, and I need you Regan, just like you need me. We have a lot on the line riding on this.”

Regan: “Don’t you think I know? I could cost you the United States Championship, and I won’t get another title shot for the tag straps until the Connection lose it. We gave them too much and now we are the ones under the gun.”

Selena: “And I feel the same way, frightened to let you down and watch you have to wait for another shot at becoming Supreme Champion? No, we can’t do that Regan. I can’t allow that to happen. That so why we need to trust each other now more than ever sister. More importantly, this blame game we keep having needs to stop.”

Regan: “I know that Selena, but the first time was my fault, the second time was my fault, if we lose again……”

 

Selena cuts her off….

 

Selena: “Like the past two times, OUR fault. We cannot go into this thinking this way or we will lose. Every thought, every blame, this feeling of self-worthlessness, whatever it is, needs to stop. When we climb down this mountain, the way we feel right now, stays up here. You are The Hellcat, and maybe some people including yourself have forgotten that, but I have not. Everything is at stake, so let’s bring it home. The Tag Team Championships, the Us Title, AND your Supreme title. We have to do this together.”

 

Regan sat there for a moment, before slowly standing up and looking right into the sapphire eyes of Selena. There was silence, just the sound of the breeze between the two women before Regan finally spoke….

 

Regan: “I almost left this business earlier this year, but I stayed for one more chance. I don’t plan on having another after Rise To Greatness, and I mean that Selena. I am out of options, and you putting that title up on the line as well, pushed me over the edge. I can’t and I will not walk out of there without those tag team belts…. If it is the last thing I do.”

Selena: “It won’t be sister, because we will be defending them.”

 

The two cracked smiles before embracing one another, they stood on top of the mountain, and hashed it out, they needed to be on the same page, and now they were. It was time to go after the last piece of the puzzle for Regan, and a step closer to immortality….

 

Regan: “Alright, awesome…. Time to climb down.”

Selena: “Really, we just got here!? I actually brought stuff up here for a picnic.”

Regan: “You’re joking, right?”

Selena: “Nope, come on, now we can BOND.”

Regan: “I’m going to throw you off this rock.”

 

Selena starts to laugh, Regan rolls her eyes and joins in. It was the moment they needed, a sense of clarity and understanding, because there was a lot on the line, and the Connection were coming hard to keep what they had and take more. Regan knew this could be her last chance for a long time….

In her mind, there was never another.

 

Helms Home

Laurel Canyon, CA.

Later That Night

 

It was a fun and productive day for the Hellcat and Selena, who had gone back to her motorhome, getting ready for the journey early in the morning. Regan had decided to join her after talking at length. She wanted to come home and make sure that everyone was okay. Jay was going to stay with Kathryn and Jordan, David had a lot of business to take care of. Regan was in the kitchen making Chicken Pot Pie, her mother was sitting at the bar drinking some orange juice, she didn’t look as well like she did prior and that was starting to concern Regan. Jay was sitting in the living room playing video games, but Regan couldn’t help to think there was something going on. She grabbed her mother’s medication and handed it over to her. The Hellcat was in jeans, a t-shirt and flip flops, her toenails polished white. Her mother was in black summer dress and sandals, a headband around her head, she was reading some news on her phone when some pills fell in front of her…

 

ReganCastPic-Giselle2Giselle: “What is this?”

Regan: “It’s your pain meds mom. You need to take them; you look a little pale and have been moving slow for a bit. I was going to head out to Germany for a few days with Selena, but I think I’ll stay, the last thing I need is to find out something happened to you. I even thought about taking you with us to Minneapolis.”

Giselle: “Regan, you know that I can’t travel, not like this. Besides, you are worrying about me for nothing, seriously, enjoy yourself. Amanda said she can stop by and hang out, we have always liked each other, talked but never really did anything.”

Regan: “Amanda? Sienna’s mother?”

Giselle: “Yeah, when you and Sienna were hanging out, we ended up being Facebook friends, talked and now we chat all the time, she is a great person and know what I am going through. I will be fine, it’s just been really hot lately and the smog, you know how it gets, do not worry about me. Go have fun, with the big weekend you have coming up, I will be here cheering you on with my grandson. Seriously, I am okay.”

Regan: “Mom, you know damn well, that you are a stubborn mule, and this is why I brought you here. Listen to me, alright? You are my responsibility, my priority, if anything happened to you, especially if I could have done something, I don’t know how I would feel. I want to make sure that you’re okay, and if that means I have to stay home, cancel a trip, then that is exactly what I will do.”

 

Giselle doesn’t argue with her daughter, she grabs the pills, chucks them down with her drink and smiles sarcastically…

 

Giselle: “Better?”

Regan: “Yes, you appease me, but still can you be honest?”

Giselle: “I am being honest, Regan. I know you have a lot on your mind and the last thing you need is for me to be hunkering down on it. When you leave, go in peace. Have fun, you’re going to see Deanna and the kids?”

Regan: “Yeah, it’s a nice change of pace. Gives me a chance to get away from everything, clear my head and remember what is on the line. I know what is important, and I just need to remember that, besides, I know what is most important, what I have right here. Which is why I want to make sure you’re okay. I already called Mikaela and told her, she will be coming over to visit you, make sure you are taking your meds, etc.”

Giselle: “You do know that I can take care of myself, right? I don’t need all of this attention. I am more worried about you, can’t be having these self-doubts, because this is too important for you, and I have seen how you are when you don’t get what you want.”

 

Hearing that makes Regan chuckle a little, for her mother was right, it was one of those moments where she reminded Regan of how she used to be, and since then while she still has the drive to get what she wants, there have been a few instances where she needs to ask herself if that is her being honest or untruthful with herself. She wants this for David and her, more than anything, but not at the cost of her madness. Her mother reaches over, grabbing her daughter’s hand…

 

Giselle: “In my life, I was always ruthless. I go and get everything I want, stop at nothing until I get it, a trait that you picked up from me at a very young age. We are always going to have to sacrifice Regan, that much is true, but at cost? Trust me, there is going to come a moment when you cannot physically do it anymore, then your life really changes. It did for me, as now I feel like an invalid, can’t do things on my own, always feeling weak. I never thought I would ever stop being an independent woman, and though I firmly believe that I will get my life back, I often wonder what it is going to take to do so. But for you, this is what you wanted, but you don’t have to do it forever, you can quit, be able to go off and realize what life has in store. David chose to go back, he needed that last run, before he knew physical, he was done. You have those choices but when you make them, you need to be absolutely sure this is what you want.”

Regan: “I needed to hear that mom. I feel like whatever I make after Rise to Greatness, I will upset or disappoint someone, and that alone breaks my heart, but at the end of the day I have to do was is best for me. Moments like these are the reason I feel like I need to come back home. For you, Jay, the family in general.”

Giselle: “Whatever you do, I support you in every way. Just remember, you have wanted this moment your entire career, go get it, and then decide.”

Regan: “I will. Alright Pot Pie is in the over, about twenty minutes we will be ready to eat, Dave should be home by then.”

 

Giselle slowly stands up….

 

Giselle: “Sounds great, I’m going to the bathroom, and freshen up. You’re right, I probably look like death.”

Regan: “Don’t exaggerate mom, I didn’t say THAT.”

Giselle: “I know, by the way, it smells delicious.”

 

Regan winks at her mother, turning toward the oven, opening it up slowly to check on the Pot Pie while Giselle headed to her room which was downstairs and toward the back. She walks in, closing the door behind her, standing in front of the sink, running the cold water, splashing some on her face. She coughs a little, spitting out some blood. Giselle closes her eyes for a moment, drying her face, and sitting down for a moment, knowing that she has not been honest with her daughter, and doesn’t want to add pressure or make her worry as the biggest night of her life is coming….

…. All at the price of her health.

And it is worth seeing her eldest daughter, focused and ready.

 

SCENE FADES

 


 

 

REC:

 

ReganCastPic-Regan9“Rise To Greatness…

The one event a year where everyone is at their best. New wrestling gear, lavish entrances, the glitz and glamour that comes with the biggest show of the year, the mecca of professional wrestling, the Superbowl of the SCW, and I must say that I have been quite fortunate when it comes to my record at that event, but never before have I had my back to the wall like I do now and I think that is what really becomes the motivating factor. My first RTG experience, I was only in SCW for a little over a month, Shawn Winters retired, Rachel Foxx faced Brittany Lohan, Lucas Knight wrestled CHBK, David Helms went up against Collin Cole, Zero, Matthews and Valiant Main Evented, and I was ringside during the Women’s Title Fatal Four-way. It was my first taste of Greatness, I knew the minute I stepped out on the stage in the Mercedes-Benz Metrodome listening to all those fans, having goosebumps running up my arm and neck, that this is what I wanted to do, and ONE DAY, ONE DAY I would step out on my own and do just that….

Rise to Greatness.

Eight Years later, seven RTG’s and here we are with my eighth. I remember that year like it was yesterday, before I met and fell in love with David Helms, had a taste for gold, not knowing if I would make a career of this or not, never fathoming or imagining how far I would progress in all this and now as we are in 2020, I am one title….. ONE TITLE away from being Supreme. There is a chip on my shoulder, seeing people here less time than me reaching that goal does in a way motivate me even more. I can look back and break down every single little detail that has led me to Minneapolis, and to the letter with a fine-tooth comb, and it won’t matter…

I can’t change the past or what I have done to form into the present. What I can do is control what I do moving forward. 2012 changed my life forever, it was the moment when I knew I was going to die a wrestler. People say that you make the best with what you’re given, I surely have, and never in a thousand years while on this journey did, I think I’d ever meet a man like David Helms. He is one of the biggest reasons why I realized it was time for me to step back for a moment, assess what I was doing, and really try to delve into my own psyche to figure out what I couldn’t on my own. See, I was a woman with a routine, get up in the morning, do her things, go work out, eat, sleep, get my hair or nails done, whatever, a very regimented day, but when someone comes into your life, it all changes. My wants, needs and priorities evolved in time, because honestly, we never imagine what happens when we fall in love.

David is my anchor, he is my everything and If it weren’t for him, I don’t know where I would be in my life. Some people look at their spouse, wondering why they fell in love with them, I know why I did with David and it was rough at first, Riding the Lightning Night two may have been one of the worst nights in my personal and professional life, it was the night Syren won everything and I lost it all.

Back then?

I never saw the end of the tunnel and the light shining through. It takes moments of failure to find your strength, digging so deep down inside waiting for the right opportunity to make it happen. The day David put the ring on my finger, was the day I knew that I finally won. We overcome our roadblocks, Syren was one for me early in my career, and in the last three years, she hasn’t beaten me once. A lot of that had to do with my inner strength, thanks to David and his love, support, and most of all faith in me. There are times when I have let him down and disappointed my husband. Those were the little bits where I never forgot because I’m not dumb enough to repeat my mistakes….

And that leads me into Rise To Greatness.

The Big Ass and Jackass Connection have taken the last two, sure the first was a draw but I still failed, and it was my body pinned along with Tommy Valentine’s. Every challenge I have ever faced whether it was Syren to Datura and all points between, one thing came out of them….

Finality.

With my hand being raised high with a victory. I can’t guarantee that happening at Rise to Greatness on Sunday, there is no way I can predict the future, but what I do know is this, we have everything to lose here, but the reward? It makes it worth risking every step of the way for one more time to hold up Gold in front of millions and know that Regan Street is not just a Hellcat…

She is Supreme.

Unfortunately, this is personal, it is not about revenge, or an opportunity to reach the pinnacle of my career, oh no. It is about what we gain and what we lose on the journey here. There was always a price to pay, the question always is, how steep? In time we all become numb to the piercing words of those we once considered brothers, sisters, and friends. Instead those exact words become what motivates us to do the hardest thing in our careers and in this case, our lives. This is not just another title match; it is the conclusion of eight years the road traveled….

For all the memories, good or bad will be bottled up in one moment…

…. As the night I ended it, my way.”

 

/REC

 

Leave a comment